The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.
The 2×2 rule is a Local Rule that provides relief from sprinkler heads and other immovable obstructions when certain conditions are met. If the R&A, PGA Tour and LPGA Tour acknowledge and use the 2×2 rule, why is it only a Local Rule? Also, is there a way for everyday golfers to try to get a Local Rule turned into a Rule of Golf? —Phil Peterson, via email
Phil, we’ll address the last question first. Golfers are free to write to the USGA at rules@usga.org. The organization won’t keep you in the loop on the process, but it will respond and, if your proposal is reasonable, it may be taken to Committee for further consideration.
Now, as to 2×2, aka Model Local Rule Noah’s Ark, a bit of background. Its first appearance in the Rules of Golf was the Year of the Tiger, 2000, as “Fixed Sprinkler Heads” (Appendix 1.5.d) and was designed with links-style courses in mind, where playing a stroke along the ground near the putting green wasn’t just common but likely and intended. This Local Rule has grown bigly, now in use on most tours and many USGA championships — with the extra stipulation that both obstruction and ball must be in fairway cut or less (see MLR F-5.2).
John & Jane Q. Public might have noticed that some changes have come about through a Local Rule before it becomes the Rule — see, for example, accidental movement on putting green. That isn’t always how it works, but Rules Guy has heard that you’re not alone in wanting to see 2×2 become law.
For more Local Rule guidance from our guru, read on …
A player hooked his tee shot into a wooded area that included an out-of-bounds area. He announced he was hitting a provisional and promptly hit dang near an identical hook into the same area. Upon searching, both balls were quickly found to be out of bounds. The player elected to play the original ball, dropping it no nearer the hole on the edge of the fairway (Model Local Rule E-5). He hit it onto the green and made the putt for what we believed to be a fantastic bogey 5. After the round, the league commissioner ruled that he should have recorded a 7, not 5, with the following explanation: “By electing to hit a provisional from the tee, the player gives up the right to use the Local Rule on the first ball that went out of bounds. You can either use the Local Rule or hit the provisional but cannot apply both for the same shot. If the first ball is indeed out of bounds, it is dead and the provisional is in play.” Was this the proper ruling? — Jim Olichwier, St. Croix Falls, Wis.
Jim, this commissioner certainly sounds quite knowledgeable … because he is!
Once the player played a provisional, he wasn’t allowed to use the Local Rule with respect to the original ball.
As the commish was explaining, nothing stopped him from using it on the second ball. Give that commissioner a raise, or at least buy him a beer.
Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025? Find a club-fitting location near you at True Spec Golf.
Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.
The post Rules Guy: How does a Local Rule become a universal rule? appeared first on Golf.