Rules Guy: A mid-round rain delay gave my formerly errant shot a lucky break. Was it valid?

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

I hit a drive on a dogleg that was heading toward some bushes. The siren then sounded due to heavy rain, and play didn’t resume for hours. Back on course, turns out I was indeed in those bushes … which were now completely in standing water. I took my closest point of relief, which left an open shot that I hit to a foot for birdie. I felt like I got away with one, but legally. Yes? —Phil O’Keefe, Pittsburgh

No — see Rule 16.1a(3), Phil. With any abnormal course condition, such as temporary water, there is an exception that denies relief to a player whose stroke is clearly unreasonable due to something other than the condition allowing free relief.

A ball in the middle of bushes that could not otherwise be played would likely fit that exception and relief was not actually allowed.

Apres-moi, le deluge!” said King Louis XV. Rules Guy knows how he feels …

For more weather-related guidance from our guru, read on …

ball in storm
Rules Guy: Can I sub in a new ball after a mid-hole weather delay?
By: Rules Guy

I recently witnessed something unfair at a pro tournament. A player’s approach shot landed and stopped on the middle of the green. His playing partner needed a ruling before playing his approach, which took several minutes. During this delay, a huge gust of wind blew across the green, sending the ball off the putting surface. Under these unusual circumstances, can the ball really not be replaced where it was? —Mike Keller, via email

Verily it cannot, Mike, though it may seem unfair. If the ball had not already been lifted and replaced, then the player needed to play the ball as it lies.

It’s no different than had the same thing happened after a 250-yard approach and the ball started to roll away while the players were walking toward the green — the ball was moved by natural forces, so Rule 9.3 says to play it as it lies from where it rolled to.

We will also note that the first player could have walked ahead and marked his ball while his partner was getting the ruling, which would have spared him a situation that does indeed blow.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

The post Rules Guy: A mid-round rain delay gave my formerly errant shot a lucky break. Was it valid? appeared first on Golf.